How to Clean Makeup Brushes and Sponges

cover-shot

Cleaning makeup brushes and sponges is so important to helping apply your makeup well and making sure that there is no bacteria that could be causing breakouts! A lot of people do not realize how important it is to clean their makeup utensils on a regular basis.

Last year, I even read an article about a woman who was paralyzed after she borrowed a dirty makeup brush from a friend! http://www.cosmopolitan.co.uk/beauty-hair/news/a34762/this-woman-nearly-died-from-a-dirty-makeup-brush/

Needless to say, cleaning makeup brushes and sponges on a regular basis is really important.

Before cleaning my makeup brushes I always wash my hands and then get started with the next steps!

Brushes:

To clean my makeup brushes, I use Sodasan Bio Liquid Soap in Citrus Olive. This is the best soap I have found to clean my brushes and it is all natural, gentle and effective.

liquid-soap

I wet the brush first and then take one pump of the soap in the palm of my hand and swirl the brush in the soap.

Washing Brush .jpg

Next,  I massage it in to make sure that the makeup is loosened up and then rinse with warm water. I then leave the brush in my makeup jar to dry and after about 24 hours, most of my brushes are dry. The denser the brush though, the longer it will take to dry.

 

Sponges:

soap-2

In my past experience, I have found that sponges do not get thoroughly cleaned from liquid soap and the only thing I have found that works is bar soap. I personally use Dr. Bronner’s Castile Bar Soap in Peppermint, but I think that almost any bar of soap would work for cleaning sponges.

cleaning-sponge

First, I take the sponge and wet it under warm water and then use the bar of soap to coat the outside of the sponge. Next, I massage the soap into the sponge and then rinse with warm water. In this case, it is important to rinse the sponge a lot because you do not want to have any soap left inside.

clean sponge.jpg

After that, the sponge is good to go and ready for use!

 

Good luck and happy cleaning! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

